Chocolatey Indulgence!!

Hi friends!  I writing from a little different perspective today than my last few posts.  Every now and then you have to indulge!  Of course, my problem has been indulging a little too much over the past year or so and I am having to try to get that in check, but Tuesday it’s Valentine’s Day and I decided to make a special treat.  (I also made this for a pot luck at work recently and it was a big hit!).  We met our two sons for lunch today and since both of them LOVE these, I decided to make a batch to give to them for a Valentine’s gift.

Oh . . . .  what are they, right??  They are . . . . . wait for it . . . . . . brownies made with one of my favorite indulgences – Nutella.

Now, you will find about a gazillion recipes for various Nutella brownies online.  In fact, it’s overwhelming!  I first found out about these when one of those two sons, Travis, sent me a recipe.   That recipe was awesome but a little incomplete so I had to do a little searching and improvising.  That’s when I discovered the onslaught of versions out there.  I have made these with butter, I have made these with oil, I have varied the amount of Nutella, I have made them with and without chocolate chips . . . . . hmmmm . . . . I guess I have made these a LOT!  What follows below is my version I have settled on after trying so many and reading so many versions.  Unfortunately, I can’t really credit one particular recipe here since it’s evolved for me over time.

Now, as I said, this is an indulgent recipe.  However, for those of us trying to work in a Weight Watcher type program, I actually entered the recipe on the WW recipe calculator and came up with the points for these.  That’s the great thing about WW . . . you really can work in one of these if you plan right, even on a strict WW day!  The recipe below makes however many brownies you want to cut the large pan into, but if you cut them into 24 brownies, they will count as 7  points each.  That’s workable, right?? The hard part is eating just one!,

Today I even took pictures for you along the way!  Here’s the recipe.  Make them and share with your friends and family.  You will be VERY popular!

Version 1,231,456 Nutella Brownies (guessing on the version number!)

3/4 vegetable oil (or you can use 2 stick of butter, melted)
2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 eggs
1 cup flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 salt
1 cup Nutella
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 °.  Spray non-stick cooking spray into a 13 X 9 baking pan. (or use oil or butter to grease – your choice).

Combine dry ingredients and set aside.  In a large mixing bowl, cream the oil or butter, sugar and vanilla until well combined (the longer the better).

Add in eggs, one at a time, mixing after each addition.

Next, add dry ingredients in two batches, mixing well after each addition.

Add in the Nutella and mix well until combined.  Finally, add in chocolate chips and gently mix until they are incorporated into the batter.

Spread batter into the pan. Bake for about 35 minutes.  Baking time may vary by a few minutes but you are looking for brownies that have just started pulling away a tiny bit from the sides of the pan but are still kind of gooey in the middle (sorry for the lame baking term!).  The key is to not over-bake.  These should be very fudgy.

Cool for at least 30 minutes before cutting.  Cut into desired number of brownies.  Might be 24, or might be 4!
I packed some into these cute little Valentine take-out boxes to give to my sons.
Hope you like them!  Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

