Sunday lunchtime with Veggie Chili leftovers

Happy Sunday all.  My last Sunday as an employee at my current job.  Very weird to think I will start a new job on the 16th after being in one place for 12 years.  But onward and upward, as they say.

So, on the Foodie front, day 7 of new Weight Watcher plan and day 739 (or something like that) of being vegetarian. The two are melding nicely. I wanted to share with you today my recipe for vegetarian chili.  It is almost embarrassingly easy.  I came up with it after trying many others and this is the one I have pretty much stuck with.  Always remember that you can change or add to recipes to suit your tastes or what you have on hand. The recipe below feeds 4 with good sized servings.  I like it because it is very quick, very easy and makes great leftovers which, as my post title indicates, we had for lunch today.  I made the original batch Friday night.  Like a lot of dishes, this one is even better later on.  For those on WW it comes to 4 points per serving. Pretty low so it is a good meal for days when you may have had a little more points that you would have liked earlier n the day.

I like to serve this with homemade corn chips.  Those are so easy to make. You just cut each corn tortillas into six triangles and place on a baking sheet.  If desired spray with a light coat of olive oil spray, sprinkle it whatever seasonngs you like, and bake for 10-15 minutes.  Turn once during baking and be sure to watch them so they don’t burn. If you use just a tiny bit of spray or none at all, you can have 18 chips for 3 points.  I like to sprinkle with taco seasoning. These are good!

So here’s my easy chili recipe.  Unfortunately I was bad and forgot to take a picture again. Promise I will fix that!

Veggie Chili (4 servings)

1-2 cups frozen or fresh mixed pepper strips (red, yellow, green)
1 medium onion, chopped
1 cup frozen corn kernels
1 15 oz can diced tomatoes
1 15 oz can beans of choice (I like pinto or black)
2 TB GarlicGarni (see previous posts) or garlic powder or minced garlic
2 TB ground cumin
1 TB mild chili powder or less if hotter chili power is used, but this it to taste

Using a large skillet on high heat, saute the peppers, onion and corn until all are tender. I don’t use any oil here because I find that the liquid from the frozen vegetables is enough.  Add tomatoes, beans and spices. Heat to boiling then turn heat to low and let simmer for at least 10 minutes.

Serve with the chips and any toppings you choose.  Just remember to count points for topping if necessary.   Store any you don’t eat in the fridge for a few dqys or freeze for lunches later.  Happy eating!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

