I’m back! New Year, new blog posts!

Hi everyone!  Well, I am going to try this blog thing again.  I think I just won’t pressure myself to do something every day – kind of got overwhelming quickly!  I am going to make a strong effort to keep this blog going, and improve it, and continue to share my vegetarian recipes and tips.  So, I begin again . . . .

Since it’s the start of the new year, like everyone else, I am trying to eat more healthfully and lose the weight that has crept up on me again.  For weight loss right now I decided to follow the Weight Watchers program.  I’ve followed WW off and on for about 20 years and when it gets down to brass tacks, it is the only plan that really works for me when I follow it to the letter.  Since I love to cook, those plans where you have to eat their food never work for me.  Plus, most of them are VERY limited in the vegetarian area and most are filled with tons of those unpronounceable things I try to avoid! WW allows me to choose whatever foods I want so it is super easy for vegetarians to follow.  In addition, there are very cool apps available now that make planning and tracking super easy.  My favorite is the new barcode app which lets me scan items on my phone, track the points and even add them to my food tracker right from my phone.  It doesn’t have every food on the planet, but it has enough to be really helpful for me.

So, for my first “I’m back” post, I am going to share one of my favorite breakfast treats.  On the new WW Plus Points plan, it has 6 points.  I am a lover of hot cereal and a lover of Nutella and this lets me combine the two for a decadent bowl of yumminess that is pretty low in points too.  Frankly, I usually try to keep my breakfast points to 5 or below so this is kind of a treat but it still allows me quite a bit of points for the rest of the day. Plus it is super easy!  I make it in the microwave but you could also make it on the stovetop – it just takes a little longer and needs more stirring.  I have to apologize for not having a picture this time but promise I will take a picture next time I make it.

Nutella Cream of Wheat (single serving)

3/4 cup milk (I use either low fat almond or 1% organic regular milk)
3 TB whole grain cream of wheat (if you can’t find whole grain, regular works)
2 tsp nutella or other chocolate hazelnut spread
1 packet z-sweet, or other sweetener of choice (just remember to counts points if you use a sweetener with calories)

In a glass bowl or measuring cup (use a size that allows the cereal to boil up and not worry about spillover), whisk together the milk and cereal.  Place in the microwave and set timer for 3 minutes.  Start cooking and at 1 minute, stir the cereal.  Continue to cook and watch as it begins to bubble up in the bowl for another minute or so.  Start again and let it bubble up again for about another 30 seconds or until desired consistency.

Remove from microwave and place in serving bowl.  Add the nutella and sweetener and stir to combine.  Now enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m back! New Year, new blog posts!

  1. Tami says:

    Coincidentally, I just joined weight watchers online this morning, got on facebook and saw your post. It will be fun losing weight with you. I’m not a vegetarian, but your recipes will inspire me. Thanks Tammy! Off to buy a workout video. 😉

  2. Izzy says:

    Good luck with the blogging!

  3. steve burris says:

    Nice to see you back.When Ethan was up here around X-mas..He cooked some Tofurkey, It tasted the same as turkey and is vegan friendly, ever try it?
    Kind regards,
    Steve

    • tammyalex says:

      Hi Steve! I have not tried tofurkey yet although I have seen it a lot. I am not the biggest fan of tofu so tofurkey has never sounded that great to me. But, maybe I will have to give it a try as I have now heard some good comments about it. Thanks!

  4. Nanette says:

    Tammy, glad your going to continue your blog. I am refocusing on my WW efforts. Just weighed in for the first time this year – ugh! I downloaded the barcode app after I read your FB post. Thanks. I’ll try to stay active with you and your blogging.

  5. Lori Gaudioso says:

    Very cool and very ambitious of you. I need some good ideas and it sounds like this blog will be just the thing.

Leave a Reply

