Another Quick Dinner – Easy Oven Fritatta

Hi friends!  Sorry I haven’t blogged for a few days.  It’s been kind of crazy around here.  My husband and I are redoing our master bathroom and I spent pretty much my entire three day weekend working in there.  (By the way – painting sky high walls is NOT fun!).  The walls had been originally wall-papered over just the dry wall so after my son spending days getting that off we were left with walls that were not textured but we decided to paint anyway.  Being the non-professional that we are, it was a “fun” project.  It’s still not even done – we still need to paint the trim and then put in our new faucets.  But it looks pretty good considering.

So – I haven’t been doing much cooking in the past few days.  Tonight I worked late and just wanted a quick and easy dinner with whatever I had on hand.  Enter the recipe that follows.  It’s pretty much a basic open faced omelette, oven omelette, frittata, or whatever you want to call it.  Basically it’s eggs, veggies, soy sausage, cheese and seasonings.  I made a simple but, oh so yummy, side dish of roasted zucchini and tomatoes.  Here are the basic ingredients.

Now, I have to say that a “normal” frittata recipe is going to include more eggs that what I used here.  I only had four eggs on hand tonight so I went with it.  I do use organic eggs, in case you were wondering, but you can use whatever eggs your conscious allows you to use (a little humor there – don’t get mad at me!).   This made a thinner dish than usual but we actually kind of liked it better.  It made four servings, but might have been two depending on how hungry we were.  Tonight, it was four servings so I have lunch tomorrow already made!

Here’s how I made this dish:

Heat oven to 385°.

I chopped up a small onion and some tri-colored peppers.  It was about a cup worth of veggies and placed those aside.

Then I prepared the zucchini and tomatoes and started them to roast.  So easy!  Just slice up some zucchini, however much you want (I used two medium).  Toss in some small tomatoes.  I used some really yummy organic sugarplum cherries I got at Trader Joe’s.  (Are you seeing a theme yet in my posts regarding where I shop a lot?) Just toss the zucchini with the tomatoes with a little olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.  Place on a baking sheet and place in the oven to start roasting while you are preparing the frittata.

Next I heated a little olive oil in a 10 inch oven safe skillet on medium high heat.  To the pan add your onion/pepper mixture and some Italian soy sausage. I also added some salt, pepper, garlic seasoning (I use Garlic Garni).  Saute until the veggies are nice and soft, about 8-10 minutes.  This is really to your preference.

While those are sauteing I beat the eggs together with salt, pepper and about a quarter cup of a shredded Italian Blend cheese (I used Quatro Formaggio from, where else, Trader Joe’s!).  Now pour this mixture over your sauteed veggies and sausage.  As it starts cooking, start pushing the cooked edges down while you are swirling the pan around a little to make sure the eggs start cooking all around and the bottom is pretty set.   This will take about 5 minutes depending on how many eggs you used and your preference.  I have to admit here that I personally can’t stand runny eggs so I tend to overcook my eggs.  Sorry – I had to confess!

At this point, place your skillet in the oven next to your veggie dish which is, by now, sizzling away and smelling awesome.  Because my egg dish is pretty thin, I baked it for about 5 minutes, the topped with about a half cup of the same Italian cheese mixture I mixed the eggs with, and baked about another 5 minutes.  Here is what I ended up with:

I have to apologize for not being exact on my cooking times but this is really a dish that you can play with.  Add more eggs for a larger, more fluffy dish and you will cook longer.  You can also add really any kinds of veggies or fillings you want.  For a family, double the ingredients and cook in a larger skillet – really do whatever you want.  You really can’t miss with this!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

