Easy Weeknight Spaghetti with Sausage-less Sauce

Hi everyone!  I almost hesitate to share this recipe with you because, frankly, everyone can make spaghetti, can’t they?  It’s pretty basic stuff.  But . . . I wanted to share what we eat as vegetarians and this is one of those meals.  As the title suggests it is an easy weeknight meal that’s quick to put together and get on the table when you’re tired and hungry.

I try to make meals that are pretty clean and for the most part try to not use a lot of processed foods.  But, even I have to use some things that are ready made or I would probably not cook as much–especially on weeknights after a long, tough day at work.  Here are my ingredients for my spaghetti tonight.

Next time I might change it up a bit.  I use whatever I have on hand except for a few staples I always use.  One staple is my Garlic Ghetti.  It’s an awesome garlic seasoning with some Italian cheeses built in.  You can find it at the large craft festivals or their website.

Another staple is Italian Seasoning.  I really like this one that I get at Costco.  Also, remember in my post about organic foods where I said buying in bulk helps cut costs?  Well, the organic whole wheat spaghetti, tomato sauce and tomato paste were all bought at Costco in large packages.  They are really affordable and last me a long time.

Finally, my last must have for my sauce – Trader Joe’s Italian Sausage-less Sausage.  It’s made of soy and is delicious in my sauce.  Tonight I just chopped up a red pepper and a small sweet onion and combined it with crumbled sausage in my pan.  Once the onions and red pepper were soft and the sausage browned, I added two cans of tomato sauce and a small can of tomato paste along with a tablespoon (or more) of the Italian seasoning and a couple of tablespoons of the Garlic Ghetti, a touch of salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and then turn down the heat and just simmer while the spaghetti cooks.  I always serve it with some type of veggie.  I love roasted vegetables like broccoli or Brussels sprouts, or roasted zucchini and tomatoes. Tonight I made a simple salad of fresh organic Romaine with yummy organic sugar plum tomatoes and a simple vinagrette of champagne vinegar (I love Trader Joe’s Orange Champagne vinegar) a little olive oil, a touch of honey, salt and pepper. Oh yeah – you can’t forget the sprinkle of Parmesan (unless you’re a vegan)!

So this was dinner! Super easy, but super good and, of course . . . . meat-free!  Until next time . . . . . .

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Weeknight Spaghetti with Sausage-less Sauce

  1. I’m glad you have shared it. Anyone can make spaghetti – but not everyone can make it properly… hence my recent tomato sauce blog. It looks really delicious and rich.

  2. tammyalex says:

    Thanks for the comment. I checked out your recipe and it looks great. Will have to try it!

Leave a Reply

