Organic Veggies

This morning, sitting at my front door was my box of fresh organic produce from Nature’s Garden deliveries.  I’ll talk more about how you can get one of the boxes like the one below in a little while.


I do try to buy organic whenever I can. There are several reasons why I think it’s important:

  1.  To support smaller, more local growers
  2.  To prevent huge, evil companies like Monsanto from obliterating farming methods that do not agree with their own money grubbing ways of farming (Google this and you will find tons of information about what they are doing – with the government’s help and what they do to smaller, organic farmers-it’s really horrendous).
  3. To avoid food that has been subjected to pesticides, hormones and other things I really don’t want to eat.

Now, I don’t always manage to get organic, but I do try.  I know a lot of people say they can’t afford to buy organic.  It IS generally more expensive than non-organic but I have found a few things that have helped me keep the costs down. Here are some hints:

  1. Plan menus and buy only the exact quantity you need.
  2. Watch for sales at grocery stores or buy at a farmer’s market where prices tend to be lower.
  3. Buy in bulk and freeze.  I actually will even buy a bag of organic potatoes, cut them into chunks and freeze.  I can then take out the frozen potatoes and cook later.  I buy raw organic almonds in 5 pound bags online from a farm in California.

Now – about that box I had delivered . . . . . .

I love to go to the Downtown Public Market in downtown Phoenix but it’s not really convenient.  And . . . there really isn’t another good farmer’s market with a good selection of organic near my home.  I do buy some things at Sprouts and Trader Joe’s but then I found out about Nature’s Garden.  They deliver boxes of organic produce right to your home or office.  You can get different size deliveries depending on your needs.  The box above is the medium size and costs $35.  There are other sizes and you can choose if you want weekly, bi-weekly, etc.  The produce is truly excellent quality too.  I’ve been impressed.  The only thing I am not entirely thrilled with is that most of it comes from California and I would prefer more local, but at least California is not too long of a haul.  Go to Nature’s Garden for more info.

I’d love to hear any tips and advice anyone out there has regarding buying organic.  Bye for now!

This entry was posted in Living Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Organic Veggies

  1. Im a fan keep em coming ..you go Girl

  2. Lorena Royce says:

    Thanks so much for this, Tammy. I’m enjoying your blog so much. I don’t eat vegetarian all the time but I do frequently and I would love to buy organic more often.
    The website (Natures’s Garden) is a great idea!

Leave a Reply

