Sourdough Waffles with Raspberry Maple Sauce

Here is my first recipe posting.  Lately I have been a little obsessed with sourdough.  I started a starter (OK I know that sounds weird!) a couple of months ago and have been experimenting with various sourdough creations.  I haven’t yet made a bread I am totally happy with.  I’m using all white whole wheat so things tend to be a bit heavier.

This morning my new creation was a sourdough waffle.  I bought a waffle iron over a year ago and hadn’t used it yet!  This recipe made 3 waffles which was perfect for the two of us.  You can double it if you need more.  They turned out yummy.  Here’s how I did it:

First, the recipes assumes you have a sourdough starter going and ready to use.  It is really pretty easy to do.  If you Google “sourdough starter” a ton of info will come up.  I made a simple starter using whole wheat flour and water.  Here’s the website that had the one I used.  There is a ton of info there so don’t be intimidated, it is really pretty simple.  Click for the starter info.

I had taken my starter out of the fridge last night and fed it so it was bubbly.  (I plan to post a note about how to do a starter and maintain it later on).  Here’s my starter crock:

My starter was nice and bubbly

I measured out one cup of starter (OK I know it is a tiny bit over!)

In a separate bowl I combined 1 cup of white whole heat flour, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, a pinch of salt and 1 TB sugar (you could add a little more if you want a sweeter waffle)

Next I added 1 egg, 1 TB canola oil, and 2 TB almond milk and mixed it together

This then was added to the dry ingredients.  At that point I added enough almond milk to make my batter thin enough to pour onto the waffle iron.  It was about 1/2 cup, but you will need to gauge yourself based on how thick your starter was to being with.  Then I heated up the waffle iron.

I then poured my batter onto the iron and cooked per the iron’s instructions.  Meanwhile, I made the sauce, which is ridiculously easy!  I just poured some raspberries (I had frozen) into a sauce pan, added maple syrup and heated them up.

So, here’s the finished waffle.  It ended up being a light waffle – not too crispy. If you like more color and crisp, you might want to add a bit more oil to the batter.

They were good!  Husband approved!

Here’s the complete recipe.  Hope you like them if you try them.

Sourdough Waffles with Raspberry Maple sauce
Makes 3 waffles

1 cp sourdough starter
1 cp whole wheat flour (I use white whole wheat)
½ tsp baking soda
Pinch salt
1 egg
1 TB canola oil
½ cp almond milk (or your preferred milk)
1 ½ to 2 cps raspberries
2-3 TB maple syrup  (this is to taste)
Butter or margarine

In a bowl, mix dry ingredients together.

In another dish or the measuring cup containing the starter, mix the starter with the egg, oil, and about half of the milk.  Add to the dry ingredients and mix well, adding more milk if necessary to make the batter the correct consistency.  It should be easy to pour onto the waffle iron but thick enough to spread it with a spoon.

Pour and spread onto the waffle iron and cook according to manufacturer’s instructions. Repeat for each waffle.

While waffles are cooking add berries and maple syrup in a sauce pan and heat until heated through.

Once waffle is done, remove and spread with butter or margarine to taste, and ladle some of the syrup on to the waffle.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

