One Day’s Menu for a Weight Watcher Veg-head

Hi everyone!  I promised I would start sharing some of my menu plans to show how being a vegetarian fits well into the Weight Watchers plan.  The plan below is the one I used for today.  Now, mind you, I am working toward eating less and less processed food.  However, you will note that I do have some below.  I don’t think I will ever completely rid my diet of ALL of these foods, as sometimes I like the convenience.  But, I am starting to experiment with some foods that can be almost as convenient, but using less processed ingredients.  That being said, I have some things in my kitchen I need to use up.

My “tuna” salad recipe originated from one at DeliciousTV.com.  I changed that recipe though.  I used Miracle Whip light (I know, I know, but it was in my fridge!) and sweet pickle relish along with onions, a little chopped red pepper and celery. I also omitted the soy sauce.  One thing I did use was granulated Dulse.  I had never heard of Dulse a few months ago bit I decided to buy it for another recipe.  It’s actually dried seaweed.  I really don’t like it in too many things but in this, it gave it kind of a briny flavor that worked.   The key is to remember that although it is similar to tuna salad, it is NOT, and it helps to remember that it is really an artichoke/chickpea salad.  It made a really good sandwich!  Here’s a picture of the finished salad (sorry – it’s not the best picture!!):

So, my menu for the day is below.  As you can see, I still have a few points left to play with.  Usually I want some kind of evening snack so it helps me to leave a few points for that purpose.   For dinner, I just used an entry for mixed vegetables since I usually just use whatever I have on hand as long as they are low point veggies.  I cooked my rice yesterday in my rice cooker.  I use brown rice so it takes a little longer to cook so I do it ahead of time and store it in the fridge to use during the week.  Also, remember, I don’t normally like tofu so much, but in this dish, I chop it up in small pieces and marinate it in the sauce for a bit before I add it to my stir fry.  It’s actually good that way!

Here’s my day of food!

Monday, January 30, 2012

Morning
1  cup(s) fat-free plain Greek yogurt

3

1/2 cup(s) fresh blueberries

0

Subtotal

3
Midday
1  serving(s) Kettle Potato Chips, Aged White Cheddar

3

2  slice(s) reduced-calorie whole wheat bread

3

1  “tuna” salad

3

Subtotal

9
Evening
1  cup(s) cooked brown rice

5

3 oz extra firm tofu

2

1/4 cup(s) teriyaki sauce

2

1  cup(s) Mixed vegetables, California blend

0

Subtotal

9
Anytime
1  serving(s) Jell-O Pudding Snacks, Reduced Calorie, Dark Chocolate Flavor

2

1  small fresh apple(s)

0

Subtotal

2

Food PointsPlus values total used

23

Food PointsPlus values remaining

3
This entry was posted in Living Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Day’s Menu for a Weight Watcher Veg-head

  1. Lorena Royce says:

    Great ideas! I used to make “tuna” salad with chickpeas but this recipes sounds even better :)

Leave a Reply

